About Us


HELUG, the association of Higher Education Lenel User Group, is committed to the communication and sharing of development, customization, and best practices among higher education users. Our goal is to provide a consolidated voice back to Lenel from the academic community that will ensure we achieve the fullest potential of the application within the academic community.

Who we are today
  • A collection of academic users that is stronger and more knowledgeable about the Lenel application than ever before. With the collaborative nature of higher education, we have shared solutions and problem solving with our users across the country.
  • A voice back to Lenel and other solutions providers. The many vendors that fund the yearly the HELUG organization continue to commit their support to our organization and its many members.

HELUG officially formalized in 2011. Stanford University began to organize the many peer institutions that they had obtained during their access control vendor discovery. In 2012 the first annual conference was held in Palo Alto, CA at Stanford University. Everyone in attendance unanimously agreed that the yearly gathering and exchange of ideas was invaluable.

Shortly following the initial conference, Cornell University volunteered to organize the second annual conference. Scheduled in the spring of the following year the conference would maintain the excellence that was set by the initial conference.

Since those initial conferences, there have been mostly annual gatherings at different host institutions across the country allowing continuing collaboration among higher education users in this quickly evolving industry.

As the user base grows so does the quality of the presentation and discussions. The Annual HELUG Conference is definitely not something to miss. No other venue provides a opportunity to speak with many peer institutions and experts and to voice your concerns and opinions to the vendors of our various solutions.

Conference Planning Committee
Peter Atkinson
University of Washington
John Bonin
Montclair State University
Steve Cramer
Columbia University
Bill Hausmann
Montclair State University
Patricia Henness
Pacific Lutheran University
Jay Kohn
Stanford University
Justin Smith
UC Davis
Rob Stanford
Auburn University